About our Institute


The Kazan E. K. Zavoisky Physical-Technical Institute (KPhTI) of the Kazan Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences was established in August, 1945. Nikolai Grigoryevich Chebotarev, corresponding member of the Academy of Science of the USSR was appointed its first director. In 1946 this post was taken over by Professor Khamid Muzafarovich Mushtari. From 1978 to 1988 the institute was headed by Professor Maksut Mukhamedzyanovich Zaripov. Since March 1988 the institute is headed by Professor Kev Minullinovich Salikhov, full member of the Russian Academy of Sciences and the Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Tatarstan.

The formation and development of scientific investigations in KPhTI are closely associated with the discovery of electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) by Evgeny Konstantinovich Zavoisky in 1944. This phenomenon determined the main achievements of the institute in the period of its establishment. E. K. Zavoisky was one of the first research fellows in the institute. Although he worked in the institute for a short time only, he had never lost contact with it throughout his life, affecting the formation of the directions of the research there. For over 65 years KPhTI is one of the leading world centers of the development of radiospectroscopy and, in particular, EPR techniques and also applications of radiospectroscopy in physics, chemistry, materials science, medicine, etc.

In 1984 the institute was named after E. K. Zavoisky.

The main achievements of the institute in the period of its establishment are as follows:

  • Discovery of the phenomenon of electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) in free radicals (B.M. Kozyrev, S.G. Salikhov, 1947).
  • Observation of the manifestation of the hyperfine interaction in the EPR spectra (S.A. Altshuler, B.M. Kozyrev, S.G. Salikhov, 1948).
  • Determination of the nuclear spin of the 57Fe isotope (B.M. Kozyrev, N.S. Garif’yanov, M.M. Zaripov, 1959).
  • Theoretical prediction of the light echo effect (U.Kh. Kopvillem, V.R. Nagibarov, 1961).
  • Discovery of the phenomenon of electroacoustic echo in piezoelectric crystals (A.R. Kessel’, I.A. Safin, 1970).
  • First observation of electron spin resonance in superconductors and spin echo on conductivity electrons (E.G. Kharakhash’yan et al., 1972).
  • Discovery of the phenomenon pulse recrystallization of disordered semiconductors (laser annealing) (I.B. Khaibullin et al., 1974).

A noticeable contribution to the development of the institute was made by the outstanding scientists, who worked at the institute in the past: academicians K.A. Valiev and V.E. Alemasov; corresponding members of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR S.A. Altshuler and B.M. Kozyrev; corresponding members of the Russian Academy of Sciences V.A. Il’gamov and I.B. Khaibullin; Drs.Sci. (Physics and Mathematics): Yu.V. Yablokov, N.S. Garif’yanov, U.Kh. Kopvillem, V.R. Nagibarov, A.O. Rivkind, E.G. Kharakhash’yan, A.R. Kessel’, R.Z. Bariev, D.Ya. Osokin; Dr.Sci. (Physics and Mathematics), corresponding members of the Academy of Sciences of the Republic of Tatarstan I.A. Safin.

In 1989 the Heat and Power Engineering Department was established in KPhTI. It was headed by V.E. Alemasov. In June, 1991 the Institute of Mechanics and Engineering and the Energetics Department were separated from KPhTI.

At present the major directions of research in KPhTI are:

  • Development and usage of magnetic resonance for studying condensed media, including superconductors and liquid crystals.
  • Development and usage of novel magnetic-resonance, optical and acoustic methods for studying fast processes.
  • Development of physical and physical-chemical principles of microelectronics, diagnostics of solid-state surface.
  • Development of the next-generation medical instrumentation on the basis of novel physical principles.

The Zavoisky institute continues to contribute to the development of the EPR methodology and applications. Recently important results about the nontrivial physical properties of new materials have been obtained. The successful research is performed in the field of nanotechnologies, quantum memory, coherent optical solid-state spectroscopy, fast processes etc. Medical magnetic resonance tomographs are elaborated, fabricated and placed in operation. At present three “TMP-0.6-КФТИ” tomographs function in the medical institutions of the Republic of Tatarstan. A new “ТМР-0.12-КФТИ” tomography with the magnetic field induction of 0.12 Т has been elaborated.

Applied studies and designs of the institute for mechanical engineering are in demand for the industry of the Republic of Tatarstan: models, methods and software for the design process are used at “KAMAZ” Ltd. and a series of other enterprises.

At present the institute consists of 17 scientific laboratories some of which are united in three departments, scientific-auxillary subdivisions, editorial office of the journal and administrative-maintenance services.

KPhTI has a postgraduate course on eight specialties. A Dissertation Council for defending Dr. Sci. (Physics and Mathematics) thesis functions in the institute. KPhTI collaborates intensively with institutes of higher education, Russian and International research centers. It is a basis institute of the Chair of Chemical Physics of the Kazan (Volga Region) Federal University. A branch of the Chair of Physical and Colloid Chemistry of the Kazan State technological University, a joint (with the Kazan (Volga Region) Federal University) laboratory of coherent optics and optical spectroscopy, research education centers and a center of collective usage function at KPhTI.

As of the beginning of 2012, one full member of the Russian Academy of Sciences, 25 Drs. Sci., 69 candidates of sciences, 14 Honored Science Workers of the Republic of Tatarstan and five Honored Science Workers of the Russian Federation work in the institute.

Numerous prizes awarded to the scientists of the institute are an acknowledgement of the prestige of the institute: Lenin Prize, three USSR State Prizes, nine State Prizes of the Republic of Tatarstan, Gold Medal of the International EPR Society, Award of the Australian and New Zealand Magnetic Resonance Society, Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Fund, the Order of Merit for the Republic of Tatarstan, the Order of Merit for the Mother land (IV Degree).

The International Zavoisky Award, which was established in 1991 on the initiative of Prof. K.M. Salikhov, director of KPhTI to recognize truly outstanding contributions to the development of EPR, plays an important role in the consolidation of the international prestige of the institute. KPhTI participates actively in the organization of the Zavoisky Award ceremony and the International Workshop, which takes place during the period when the award is made.

Starting from 1990, KPhTI cooperates with Springer publishing house in the publication of the international journal “Applied Magnetic Resonance”, which is devoted to applications of magnetic resonance in physics, chemistry, biology, medicine, geochemistry, ecology etc.